Discussions over coffee

Friday. The best day of the week right? The weekend is right around the corner and the drudgery of the long work week is coming to an end. This particular Friday was starting as any other until a friend gave me a call to arrange to meet for lunch. One boring meeting at the office and a couple customer calls later noon rolled around and I met up with Dan.

I always enjoy talking with Dan, we have a lot in common. We are both in sales, married with kids, have a keen business sense and we both want to continually better ourselves. I have always been inspired by Dan’s passion and drive in what ever he does, and I take a lot away from our discussions. Well enough about Dan, let me talk about me haha.

I have been struggling in my career lately, not with the role itself, but I have lost almost all my passion. The funny thing is though, I haven’t been in this role for long, less than a year even, and I’m over it. I have been in sales now for over 20 years now and I really love the interaction with people but I feel like I’m stuck in a rut, working for somewhere that I feel like I’m not making a difference, to myself or anyone else for that matter. Sure, I make a decent wage and the people I work with are great, but I’m not happy. I have been wanting to step out, create something for myself, take life into my own hands and really step out of my comfort zone. The thing is though, it scares the absolute crap out of me. I mean I have a family, I am quote on quote “the main bread winner” and I don’t want to let my family down. What if I don’t make enough money, what if I don’t even like what I’m doing, what if I fail? What if I succeed?

I have been looking into something slowly, very slowly, my own business. Dan and I had a conversation this afternoon around what I have looked into so far, what some possible next steps could be, barista training companies and set up possibilities. It was great to be able to talk to someone about it from an outside perspective. Dan is also looking to take the next step in his own business but is only in the infant stages as well. We have decided to meet every two weeks moving forward to continue our conversation, to keep each other on track and to of course enjoy each other’s company over a great cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

